Options

GSEC Advice - Failed Exam

SecurityTechGirlSecurityTechGirl Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all,

I just recently took my GSEC and got a failing grade of 70%. I am planning on retaking the exam within the 60 day waiting period and continuing my study habits. I didn't know if any of you had some advice that I could take in hopes of passing my retake exam that I am going to schedule.

I studied by heavily indexing the books, highlighting important information, and listening to all of the audio (while exercising and doing routine housework). I found that if I listen to the audio and take notes while listening I absorb the information better so I am going to go through all of the audio again and try to do that for each segment.

I am hoping to buy another practice test in order to test my ability on the exam. I was passing the exam up until the last 15 questions and I panicked and that is what hurt me I believe.

I know my weak spots as well so I am going to study harder on those sections in the books.

Anyone have any advice for someone very raw to the field and hoping to get this cert under her belt?

Comments

• Options
    JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
    Are you sure that you are absorbing the information through listening? If you did that once and you didn't pass, I would recommend focusing on reading through the book, not just the slides but all of the text underneath. Not taking notes again either. But just reading through the text and and thinking about what you just read, trying to visualize the concepts it talks about. I passed with an 88 and that was with getting absolutely killed in the Linux questions. I decided to skip the audio files completely and focus on reading.
    Have: CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC, eJPT, GCIA, GSEC, CCSP, CCSK, AWS CSAA, AWS CCP, OCI Foundations Associate, ITIL-F, MS Cyber Security - USF, BSBA - UF, MSISA - WGU
    Currently Working On: Python, OSCP Prep
    Next Up:​ OSCP