Options

Passed GCIA!

clintoniaclintonia Member Posts: 41 ■■□□□□□□□□
Long time lurker, first time poster. I just passed my GCIA and this was my first SANS exam and I have to say, while its open notes they DEFINITELY don't make it easy! I didn't get the score I wanted, but it was still above 80% which was my low end target.

The exam was pretty straightforward and pretty much just like the practice exams they gave you. I've been studying for it on and off for about 5 months since "life" happens. I finally took my first practice exam and scored a 83% and figured that was good enough to give the real thing a go. The practice exams are very similar, in fact, I want to say that maybe 3 or 4 questions on my real exam were from the practice exam, either word for word or worded very similarly. Either way, I had a deja vu moment when reading the questions. While the practice exam does help with preparing and testing where your knowledge is, it seemed like the real exam questions were about 1.5x harder than the practice questions. That threw me off slightly, but all of the questions on the real exam were reasonable. The difficulty increase was only something I noticed and thought I'd mention, since taking the practice exam may give a false sense of confidence. I only used one of my practice exams so if anyone is looking for an extra one, let me know and I can send it to you (first come first serve).

Comments

• Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Congrats and thanks for the feedback.
  • Options
    danny069danny069 Member Posts: 1,025 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Awesome! Congrats! Thanks for the review too. How much open book material did you bring with you?
    I am a Jack of all trades, Master of None
  • Options
    Looks like my review was a bit too specific on the exam contents (sorry about that). I did try to be vague without giving out exact questions that I saw.