Options

Attending GCIH this week

zxbanezxbane Member Posts: 740 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hey all,

I will be attending the SANS event in Virginia Beach this week and I will report back to this thread afterwards to provide insight on my experience with the course. I am also currently taking an Incident Response course in my DSU MSIA program so I am hoping this course will help with that as well.

Comments

• Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Sweet! I'm wrapping up SEC550 in Chicago today.
  • Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Nice! Best of luck
  • Options
    TechGromitTechGromit Member Posts: 2,156 ■■■■■■■■■□
    cyberguypr wrote: »
    Sweet! I'm wrapping up SEC550 in Chicago today.

Hmm,

No certification available for that. Was it worth taking? I can't say I'm an expert yet in GAIC courses, but so far I noticed a overlap of material. Where concepts covered in one course are covered in other courses. Did you learn anything new? Or was the material something you seen before from several other course you took? Personally, I would never spend that kind of money without a Certification carrot. I guess it's OK for a work study, where there's a promise from SANS they will give you another work study for something you do want to take.
    Still searching for the corner in a round room.
  • Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    As a defense guy this is absolutely amazing stuff. Lots of new stuff for me as well as the people in the class that I chatted with. Some tools are covered in other courses but with a completely different focus. Full review coming up after my brain can go back to normal. I don't pay for this stuff, my employer does, but there's definite value for those who want to up their security game and take their skill level up a notch.
  • Options
    the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■