Options

Wanting to become an IT manager

LordOftheSubnetsLordOftheSubnets Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi, I am currently a service desk supervisor at a large company. I have been in my position for around 2 years. I have recently decided that I would like to be an IT manager. I have around 7 years of IT experience in total, with 3 of those being in supervisor positions. However, I do not have any certs or a degree. In your experience, would this be enough to land me an IT manager gig? If not, what would I need to do to achieve my goal. Also, where I live, IT manager positions are few and far between, which of course makes it harder as more people will be going for each job. Thx

Comments

• Options
    LordOftheSubnetsLordOftheSubnets Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Forgot to add, all of my IT experience has been in a service desk position
  • Options
    TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Get these in order. ITIL, CISM, PMP

You will be manger in no time.
  • Options
    TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    I would try to get at least a System admin job or something with enterprise level exposure. Chances are you service desk is a lot of password reset type tasks which is smaller scale than the next level. Of course I could be wrong on your exposure to group policy, architecture, etc...but either way I don’t think you would need a ton of enterprise exposure...definitely have to have some though.

I would get an MCSA to say you know something, then ITIL and PMP would be great additions...CISM would be worthless for you at this point...but maybe eventually a CISA could help make you more versatile.
  • Options
    jonenojoneno Member Posts: 257 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Even for a security professional having CISM doesn't mean you're qualified to be a manager.
  • Options
    Bjcheung77Bjcheung77 Member Posts: 89 ■■■□□□□□□□