What can you guys tell mme about the GCIH/GPEN recently?

saskiller2saskiller2 Member Posts: 7 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have a friend who waited too long and now has to take one of the newer exams :D Anyway I have no experience with them, but it seems there is some kind of hands on component now. What can you guys tell me? I think he told me about some things with powershell, and other stuff I don't think was in my exam last time.

How much effort should be spent on book vs hands on? And what is a good lab to have if someone doesn't have the official lab?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    A former coworker said it's pretty slick, similar in a way to the Cisco exams in that you can interact with a VM (maybe a container?) that gives you access to a BASH shell, Windows shell, etc. to interact and verify you actually know what you're doing.
  • SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I did GPEN with CyberLive last year. There is 7 or 8 lab questions, most are a variant of the lab you did in the class. Question are rather focused and dont take too many step to complete. If you bought a voucher for the exam, it come with 2 practices test that include some lab question as in the exam. They are very representative of what you will find out in the real exam.  
  • saskiller2saskiller2 Member Posts: 7 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Thanks, if someone didnt take the course, what kind of practice would they need to do to meet the requirements?
  • SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□
    edited July 2021
    GIAC certification value come a lot from the SANS training. However if you have a lot of experience, it may be possible to pass without doing the classes. Exam is refreshed quickly and new book are constantly updated. However, I would look at this book, 

https://www.amazon.com/GPEN-Certified-Penetration-Tester-Guide/dp/1260456749/ref=sr_1_2