Options

Why are their so many Support Positions in IT?

Basic85Basic85 Member Posts: 189 ■■■□□□□□□□
I know it maybe a dumb question but when I'm job searching, almost everything for me at least has the word Support in the title.  Everytime I hear "Support", "Support Engineer", etc I hear the phone ringing.  I currently work in IT Support myself, and it's a call center, trying to escape the call center but I'm stuck, just over 4 years.  Seems like hiring managers are looking for candidates with experience in this and that but how can I get the experience if I can't get the job?  I homelab as well but I have some time constraints.  The second you say "No, I don't have experience in this", than out the door I go, it's like most can learn on the job in about a couple of months.  

I'm in my late 30's, about to approach 40 so scared still no high paying career.  I'm beginning to think IT is not for me, I keep failing the technical test during interviews and have failed cert test as well.  Currently studying for Security+.   I want to get into something else like cybersecurity, networking, or even programming, or possibly something else entirely different. 

Thoughts?  

Comments

• Options
    E Double UE Double U Member Posts: 2,231 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Are there other tech roles at your current employer? 
    Alphabet soup from (ISC)2, ISACA, GIAC, EC-Council, Microsoft, ITIL, Cisco, Scrum, CompTIA, AWS
  • Options
    Are there other tech roles at your current employer? 

I did think about that, maybe level 2 support but for some reason it's hard to get it.  After working for my current company, I don't really want to stay there anymore.  The pay is low and a lot of employees complain about that openly, turnover is high.