Options

some info on ITIL

coffeekingcoffeeking Member Posts: 305 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hello Folks,

Following are some of the questions I have about ITIL certs, will appreciate the answers, thoughts, suggestions:

1- Are ITIL certs more for the IT managers than a regular IT guy, I am just starting out in the filed with a degree in IT as my background.

2- Do you need to have a certain number of experience to make a move for these certs.

3- To me it seems that these certs are more focused on everyday IT stuff then on a certain technology in IT, is that correct?

4- Do you think its compulsary to have some tech certs before moving on to ITIL certs?

I will greatly appreciate your response. It would definately help me decide to make a move, and who better to ask than someone who's been through it.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    eMeSeMeS Member Posts: 1,875 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Hi Coffeeking,

I'll do my best to answer your questions. These are excellent questions that I think many people often have about ITIL certs. Although ITIL v2 certs are still being offered, I'm going to answer in terms of ITIL v3 because v3 is where everything ITIL is headed.

Also, an authoritative source for ITIL v3 qualifications is http://www.itil-officialsite.com/Qualifications/ITILV3QualificationScheme.asp
    coffeeking wrote:
    1- Are ITIL certs more for the IT managers than a regular IT guy, I am just starting out in the filed with a degree in IT as my background.

1 - Yes and no. Certifications for ITIL v3 are granted at 4 levels.

Foundation Level
    Intermediate Level (Lifecycle Stream & Capability Stream)
    ITIL Expert
    Advanced Service Management Professional Diploma and/or ITIL Master

Foundation level is intended for anyone in IT. The point of foundation level knowledge is that everyone is speaking the same language relative to IT and how the business uses IT.