Options

Expectations for GSEC in the real-world

docricedocrice Member Posts: 1,706 ■■■■■■■■■■
If someone were to have a GSEC by itself and was relatively new to the field, how would employers generally view this person? I'm trying to confine the realistic expectations and perceptions of the GSEC. I know it's kind of a broad intro to infosec (although I grant you it commands more respect than, say, Security+) and there are always other factors to consider such as working experience, individual character, other skill sets, etc., but would you consider someone with just this cert for a sysadmin (or any junior security-related) position?

I'm studying for the exam right now and while I feel it covers a pretty good foundational base, I don't think it's sufficient by itself to get your foot in the door. As an employer I'd probably be more impressed with at least an additional GIAC cert.
Hopefully-useful stuff I've written: http://kimiushida.com/bitsandpieces/articles/

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    The GSEC definitely looks good for entry-level positions. I'm pretty sure one of our guys was hired over other candidates simply because he had that.

If you really want to impress an employer, write a paper and go Gold ;)
  • Options
    I actually plan to do Gold as I don't mind writing. I also don't want the "cheap" GSEC but rather live up to the original standards with the "practical" portion. For my particular situation, I'm not looking for a beginner-level position though since I've been working in the IT industry for over a decade, although not in a dedicated infosec position (I've done some firewall and VPN work already). I'm looking to eventually lean a lot more towards that focus and I need to be able to demonstrate it at least on resume.