Options

Next Step up after ITIL V3 Foundation ..?

crushboy18crushboy18 Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
I Recently cleared the ITIL v3 Foundation certificate exam & would like to know the most logical next step after it .
I work as a Network Engineer & my organization pretty much follows the ITIL process! But considering so many paths after the foundation exam & some searching around I am really confused & would need some guidance about what would be the most logical next step after it . According to my research, for someone like me who works in operations right now,i should either go for service operations or the OSA exam.
I am also aware that I may need to join a coaching institute for the same & cant go the self- study route!
I plan to complete the intermediate exam this year so I have plenty of time to think.In the meantime all you suggestions are welcome!I am sure everyone will have their own take on this.:D

Comments

• Options
    Claire AgutterClaire Agutter Member Posts: 772 ■■■■■■■□□□
    Hi Crushboy

It sounds like you've had some good advice already. You will need to attend an accredited course to study above foundation level - although this can be classroom, online or blended learning.

SO or OSA would seem to suit your current role - the rule of thumb is that Lifecycles (SO) are for process managers/implementors and Capabilities (OSA) are for process 'doers' who work with a process on a daily basis.

If you're planning to get to Expert level, starting with an area that's familiar to you can help you master the exam technique. You can find lots of details about training providers, course contents etc on the ITIL Official Site http://www.itil-officialsite.com/ and please do message me if you have any questions.

Claire
  • Options
    Amazing!!Pretty simple rule of thumb which i didn't know & has solved my query!
    Thanks for the advice Claire!!:D
  • Options
    Another question...