Options

Please review my resume - Network Engineer

wavewave Member Posts: 342
Hi all,

I'm about to start looking for a new job and would be grateful for some feedback on my resume. I've been working mostly as an IT generalist for the past four years but a reasonable chunk of my time has been spent on networking. Because I am seeking a Network Engineering role I have tuned my resume to focus on my skills and experience in that area.

Thank you all in advance!

TE-Review-Resume.pdfTE-Review-Resume.pdf

ROUTE Passed 1 May 2012
SWITCH Passed 25 September 2012
TSHOOT Passed 23 October 2012
Taking CCNA Security in April 2013 then studying for the CISSP

Comments

• Options
    RouteMyPacketRouteMyPacket Member Posts: 1,104
    Actually, it's not too bad at all. I like how you bullet point projects or implementations. I have no real complaints about it to be honest, it follows a very similar flow to how I write my CV

I like the technical proficiency section as well. Very good.
    Modularity and Design Simplicity:

Think of the 2:00 a.m. test—if you were awakened in the
    middle of the night because of a network problem and had to figure out the
    traffic flows in your network while you were half asleep, could you do it?
  • Options
    inscom.brigadeinscom.brigade Member Posts: 400 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I am not a critic, but I am guessing that your age is between 25 ~ 33. I am thinking that if your 25 it maybe ok to mention in the second line about when you were 15. If your closer to 30'sh I am thinking not to talk about age 15, unless it was a major patent, or invention, then you should list that also!

I am guessing that stuff about age 15 should be at the bottem of your resume with the Boy Scouts and work for my grandpa.

I could be wrong just my first thought.

OH yeah HR hasn't got a clue! I do not see your CCNA listed, HR could say well he doesn't even have a CCNA.
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod