Options

Question About Intermediate Certifications

DJBlizzDJBlizz Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I graduated from a university a few years ago, but haven't yet started getting certifications. Recently, my manager suggested I begin this process and I've decided to go for ITIL. I have a question regarding how the certification scheme works past the Foundation level. I am aware that for the higher-level certifications I need to complete appropriate training before actually taking the exam. Is it possible to complete training at a training organization licensed by one examination institute, but complete the actual exam under a different EI?

I'm currently in training for the Foundation certification at itSM Solutions, which is accredited under CSME, but I'm looking at other training providers for the intermediate certifications. For various reasons, I don't prefer webcam proctored exams and would much rather go to a testing facility. For testing using one of these facilities, CSME is the best option as they have a location minutes from my home.

I'm a bit new to certifications, so the question may seem a bit odd to those who have been at this a while.

Comments

• Options
    pumbaa_gpumbaa_g Member Posts: 353
    It is possible to complete the training at a training organization but complete the exam from another Organization however, I will not recommend it as
    1. You need to keep sending the soft copy of the training transcript before booking each exam
    2. For the MALC you will provide proof of each Training and Certification
    3. You will not get the Certificate till they validate each training/Certification
    Seems like more trouble then really required and you will be better off with one provider. Apart from that I didnt see your experience in your profile so I can't comment on it however, the value of advanced ITIL certifications is usually after 6 years of experience in service Management