Options

a bit frustrated... no luck in network engineering job search

realdreamsrealdreams Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
I got CCNP a few weeks back and started applying for network engineering jobs again, still not much luck..
I graduated this year with BS in Information Systems (honestly it's mostly useless for network engineer...), had an internship while I was in school. I worked on some projects with my lab, that's where I spent most of my spare time during college.

I got an interview from a Cisco partner. The first written evaluation is CCENT level stuff. Then an engineer interviewed me, some basic questions like EIGRP vs OSPF, dhcp relay, traceroute etc. I don't think I missed much on technical part, but the interviewer didn't move on to more in depth discussion... A few days later I got an email from HR telling me they've moved on with other candidates...leaving me totally clueless
I am not a fan of certs, but in my situation I guess it's better than nothing. I much prefer J's SP track to Cisco's R&S track. J's lab is a lot more costly tho....

Out of hundreds of positions I applied, I get 1% of relevant interviews (usually through referral). HR tends to simply disqualify me because I don't meet the experience requirement..Now I started working towards JNCIS-SP, but I am having doubts whether I should stay on network engineering.
After all that I have done, I don't see me much (or any, actually...) closer to where I want to be.... I like network engineering but I don't really see a viable path to get in, especially for a non-US citizen. I am shooting a bit high but I did put in some efforts cuz I know being a non-local (living in rural small town) and requiring sponsorship (in the future) is a big minus for most employers.