Options

ITIL-Foundation Passed! Thoughts on Exam & Book

JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
Passed the ITIL-Foundation today. Glad to have this cert done! I have about 2 years of prior experience in an environment using ITIL principles so I was no stranger to it. I just find the material very dry. Overall I felt the exam was easy and I finished in 20 minutes. I studied during the month of February, about and hour or two a day during the weekdays.

I used ITIL Foundation Essentials by Claire Agutter. I think the book was great, however it was a tough study because as Claire says in the book, its a concise book with only what you need to know to pass the exam. That is actually a good thing as the book is basically like an outline of what you need to know and most everyone loves that. However I do not learn by reading notes/outlines and it is difficult for me to read that style of writing. Not sure why but I have to read actual paragraphs and sentences or it's just hard for me to actually take in what I'm reading and commit to memory. I had also bought ITIL Foundation Exam Study Guide by Liz Gallacher due to that reason, but I was not wanting to commit the time to study to read that book so I opted to push through and go short and sweet with Claire's book.

I read Claire's book twice and read a glossary from the online site for Liz' book. That ended up being enough for me to pass with an 85%. I'm happy. As I said, the test itself is easy. It has four answer choices and every question is multiple choice. Every question was clearly answered in Claire's book, so if you want to pass with minimal study time and effort, get Claire's book and read it multiple times, especially the day of your exam and you'll be good to go.