Options

ITIL experience with out technical knowlege - is it worth?

Vamsi KVamsi K Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Dear Members,

I have total 6 years of experience worked in different roles such as Incident lead, Anchor for Problem and change management and I have knowledge on release on configuration management also. I have worked extensively in the field of Incident and change management. My quallification is MBA and I do not have technical experience, all I am doing is PMO related work. I have also completed few internal certifications on servce desk, incident, problem and change Management, also completed internal certification on Project Management.

My questions

1. Is the experience only in ITIL without technical experience will fetch jobs?
2. Are internal certifications considered in the market when I try for new job?

Thanks,
Vamsi.

Comments

• Options
    Dear Members,

Please advise on the career options with ITIL experience with out technical back ground.

Thanks,
    Vamsi.
  • Options
    paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Vamsi K wrote: »
    1. Is the experience only in ITIL without technical experience will fetch jobs?
    2. Are internal certifications considered in the market when I try for new job?
    Hello and welcome to the TE forums.

ITIL is not geared towards technical staff and the certification applies to many different non-technical domains in service management. So yes - you can do the ITIL certification without much trouble. As to whether it will fetch jobs, it is not necessarily a certification that an employer would seek directly. Generally speaking, extremely few employers hire based solely on a candidate's certification.

As for internal certifications, that is highly dependent on the industry sector and geography. But I suspect that internal certifications are discounted since a hiring employer would have no knowledge of the criteria to obtain such certifications.
  • Options