Starting OSCP - 31/1/16

invictus_123invictus_123 Member Posts: 56 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi guys, been lurking on this forum for a couple of weeks now. Got loads of help from some of the OSCP threads on here so thought I'd make my own.

So my previous experience is mainly self-taught, I've done Sec+ and net+ courses, but not the exams due to other factors. My self taught skills lie in a broad spectrum, I enjoy RE and binary exploitation, pentesting, and a bit of forensics. I'd say my biggest weakness is web app hacking (going to spend the next few weeks getting up to scratch on this).

Programming languages I'm confident with are C, python (use mainly for CTF's), java (for uni), and I can write pretty basic assembly from scratch (mainly for custom shellcode exploits).

A few questions from people who've been there and done it:
Did you guys take notes as you went through the course material (not the labs), I'm a heavy note taker, I tend to write notes by hand, then type them up at the end of the week. Reckon that'll be doable?

How prevelant in the labs was web based hacking? It's (through my own fault) not my best area, obviously I look to improve on this.

So thats pretty much me. I'm doing this mainly to learn, if I get a cert out of it at the end then its just a bonus. Cheers for reading, I'll update this as and when I feel I should.

Comments

• danny069danny069 Member Posts: 1,025 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I can't chime in on the OSCP, but to me, it's a man's man cert. Hands on and technical. Just wanted to say welcome and good luck!
    I am a Jack of all trades, Master of None
  • adrenaline19adrenaline19 Member Posts: 251
    I start in two days. Good luck to both of us!
  • LiindoladeLiindolade Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
    How prevelant in the labs was web based hacking? It's (through my own fault) not my best area, obviously I look to improve on this.