Options

Server 2012 R2 -- Using Storage spaces with hardware RAID?

anourianouri Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm studying for MCSA using Server 2012 R2. I'm running a Dell r610 rack server with a perc6/i controller for hardware raid. Hardware raid is set up with a virtual array in a RAID 10 configuration.
For learning purposes, can I go ahead and play around with Storage Spaces (which I understand is Server 2012 R2's software RAID solution) on top of the hardware RAID or do I have to disable and wipe out the Perc/6i hardware RAID for this to work? Beyond educational purposes, can software and hardware RAID be combined in general and what is the advantage of doing so?
I appreciate any insight. Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722
    Yeah, they are just layers of abstraction. So the hardware RAID can be set up to present logical 'disks' (or virtual disks or LUNs or other vendor terminology) to the OS, and the OS can use those 'disks' to create storage pools, which can be used to create volumes.

If you want to go in deep and tune for speed or redundancy, then you really need to understand the whole stack (from the physical disks up to the volume and filesystem). But for the goals of MCSA, it's safe to play around with what you have at the hardware RAID level, since as far as the OS is concerned these are just regular disks (well, sort of, but not in a way that matters for MCSA).

Actually, the deeper you go into storage, the more layers of abstraction you come across. For example the addressing that the OS uses to talk to the 'physical platters' isn't necessarily the address used, since blocks can be remapped if they go bad. This is one reason disks get slower as they get older. This matters a little bit for tuning, and a lot for data forensics, but for regular use, it doesn't matter.

EDIT: see below poolmanjim post
    https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/.../hh831739.aspx
    2017 Goals - Something Cisco, Something Linux, Agile PM