Passed CISSP 3-29-2016 First Attempt

ErtazErtaz Member Posts: 934 ■■■■■□□□□□
After I studied for what seemed like eternity, I passed the CISSP Yesterday.
Reason for taking the CISSP:
I took a security job last year. Now my role is entirely administrative. During my interview the folks let me know that being able to keep this job was contingent on taking/passing the CISSP. (No pressure there, right? )
My background: I have 20 years of experience with network/sysadmin/security/telecom in large enterprise IT organizations. I have been a Cisco Certified Security Professional and a HP-UX certified system administrator. I studied for Sec+ and passed it in August after around a month of study.

What I did to prepare:

I tried to force myself to read the Official CBK. I, honest to God, thought about looking for another job if meant having to read that book and speak that language. I had coworkers recommend the AIO to me so I bought it. I read that book cover to cover. Even though her writing style and attempts at humor were appreciated, this was still painful. It was hard to go through for two reasons:
a. Because of stuff I already knew very well being reduced through the lens of the exam.
b. Because of stuff I didn’t know very well seeming overly complicated and nuanced.
I read 50 pages a night until I was done. As others have said here the book is long, so it requires a lot of review and application to retain the material.