Fork in the Road CHFI or CCNP Sec?

precisemmcprecisemmc Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

So Ive been studying for 3 months and I recently passed my CEHv9 certification. Would like to thank a few of the people here who pointed out important topics etc. Now moving on to the question at hand, Im considering a few other certifications at the moment and Im wondering if I should dive deeper with CISSP/CHFI or take a break and start working on my CCNP Security ( 4 exams total )

Eventually I would like to have my CISSP and CCIE but thats probably a few months way down the road. Im asking because I know sometimes exams have topic overlaps for example coming from CCNA Security PKI , RSA , AES and alot of topics were previously emphasized so I skipped over those sections. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

Comments

• PJ_SneakersPJ_Sneakers Member Posts: 884 ■■■■■■□□□□
    There is not really a reason to get CHFI unless you need a "forensic" certification. Your money will probably be spent better elsewhere judging by what you wrote and the certifications that you have listed.
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    What is the end goal here? Are you looking for something to bolster the resume, gain understanding of forensics, etc.? The CHFI is a piece of garbage in my opinion. I've never seen another test that covered so much basic material that's outside the scope of the specific area it addresses. Pair that with the cost and it doesn't make any sense to take it unless it's required by a current or prospective employer. If you are doing it just to gain understanding of digital forensics, you'll be better off doing something else.
  • precisemmcprecisemmc Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□