Options

Is this still worth doing with all the extra costs now?

PenguPengu Member Posts: 46 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have been studying for this for the past 2 weeks so have bought books and apps and stuff but I can help thinking its a big waste of time.

I am a technical test analyst and do much of the security testing for my company in a sensitive environment. I asked my boss the other day if he would vouch for me with EC-Council and he said that he is sorry but it would be unethical for him to do so as I am not a proper pen tester!?! clearly he misses the point, but that's a battle for another day.

So, I am looking at $100 dollar eligibility fee (which I might lose) a $500 exam cost and now I read posts that there is a new yearly $80 subscription cost to keep the cert!?! surely not?

I'm enjoying the subject but at this stage of my career I need to get some quals down on my CV to stand apart when I am out of a job in 5 months.

Persevere or look elsewhere? I am thinking of just going for CISSP instead, it might be less complicated to do so even though it is a much bigger challenge. I have worked with a few CISSPs for many years, so at least they are aware of my extensive experience across a number of the domains.

Comments

• Options
    LollyBagginsLollyBaggins Member Posts: 14 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Go for the CISSP for ROI.
  • Options
    IronmanXIronmanX Member Posts: 323 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Pengu wrote: »
    I have been studying for this for the past 2 weeks so have bought books and apps and stuff but I can help thinking its a big waste of time.

I am a technical test analyst and do much of the security testing for my company in a sensitive environment. I asked my boss the other day if he would vouch for me with EC-Council and he said that he is sorry but it would be unethical for him to do so as I am not a proper pen tester!?! clearly he misses the point, but that's a battle for another day.