switch options

ForeverIT27ForeverIT27 Member Posts: 60 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello lads,

I've been off this forum for a while now due to many circumstances. I have to say I'm really glad to be back.. :) I've been on and off work, which has kind of unfortunately not motivate me to study for anything. Things have since changed for the good I think, and I've been a junior system admin for my new/old job now for a little over a year. I'm looking to get back on track, redeem myself, work hard and get some Certs on the way. I've recently picked up a decommissioned Cisco 2600 Router at work, and would like a suggestion on what's a good switch I could get to match this router to get started with some basic training toward my CCNA cert. Eventually, I'll be getting or building a full home network lab. But for the mean time, I'd like to start slowly and built on my currently knowledge until I'm comfortable and have the funds to get a full network lab setup. I'd really appreciate all your inputs and assistance with this. Thanks all.
Cheers.

Comments

• clarsonclarson Member Posts: 903 ■■■■□□□□□□
    an inexpensive switch would be a 2950, preferable a c/g/t model. as in 2950T.
  • james43026james43026 Member Posts: 303 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I agree with clarson, it's a great cheap L2 switch, for CCNA studies.
  • OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722
    In 2016, I'd suggest looking for 2960 or 3560, since they both support ios 15. The 2950 is stuck back in 2010 with ios 12.1.x which is a long way from current. It will still give you a taste, but some things have changed.

A CCNA lab ideally has 3 switches and 3 routers. However, some or all of these can be achieved in a virtualised environment such as VIRL, IOL/IOU or GNS3.
    2017 Goals - Something Cisco, Something Linux, Agile PM
  • james43026james43026 Member Posts: 303 ■■□□□□□□□□
    OctalDump wrote: »