Options

First security exam - this too hard?

Lucky_IrishLucky_Irish Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Folks,

I am a Chartered Accountant / CPA, and about a year ago I started working in enterprise risk / data governance.

I want to get certified to progress professionally, do you think this exam is too technical as a starting point? Do people have suggestions on an intro certification / experience with sitting the exam without previous Info Sec experience?

Comments

• Options
    scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    Get a book regarding the subject. You decide.
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • Options
    Infosec85Infosec85 Member Posts: 192 ■■■□□□□□□□
    It's definitely possible I've read nemerous threads of folks passing with no prior experience.
  • Options
    Well, go for it!icon_thumright.gif
  • Options
    Lucky_IrishLucky_Irish Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Do you recommend any specific books to research or online areas to access material for free?
  • Options
    ThomasITguyThomasITguy Banned Posts: 181
    Do you recommend any specific books to research or online areas to access material for free?

I sat the sec+ exam with no prior infosec experience....

I used the sybex book, and Professor Messer. I watched all his youtube videos, took notes, downloaded a Sec+ andriod app with practice test questions. When I was at work and had downtime I was studying for my Sec+ all the time. When I was driving to and from work I was listening to Professor Messer. And before bed I read a chapter of the book and studied hard... The test is easy if you study.

Good Luck! You will be fine.

icon_study.gif
  • Options
    also use Darrill Gibson's book and online guide (which you can have a 30 day access to--I think it goes all the way up to a year..if needed)
  • Options
    CAIRNECAIRNE Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□