CISA Work Experience

asid12345678asid12345678 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys! I had about the CISA required work experience that I would really appreciate to be answered. I am currently a third-year student and my university is under the ISACA Model Curricula so I get 3 years waived off. I plan to give the exam this September.
Now I would need to get 2 years of work experience within 5 years of passing the exam but that's where my problem sets in. I am also majoring in Information Systems and I plan to get a job in Big 4 as an accountant after graduation and get a CPA. My university is ranked 12th in the world for accounting and accounting graduates from my uni are pretty much guaranteed big 4 jobs and I have a keen interest in accounting along with IT auditing. But I'm afraid I won't be able to fulfil my ISACA job requirements if I get an accounting/CPA job? Help me out guys and please let me know if I'm wrong. I haven't signed up for the CISA Sept. exam yet and I don't want to cancel my CPA plans because of CISA but I would really prefer to have both certifications.

Comments

• TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    What is your first passion? Accounting or IT? Seems that you are pursuing 2 majors at the same time or maybe i misunderstood? Having accounting background does help for being an auditor but usually CPA's dont do IT Auditing.
  • wd40wd40 Member Posts: 1,017 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Try to contact recruiters from the Big 4 and ask them.

It could be that they can get you a position that has some IT related tasks.

ISACA is flexible with experience requirements, you just have to practice a couple of these tasks:

Job Practice Areas 2016
  • asid12345678asid12345678 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
    TheFORCE wrote: »
    What is your first passion? Accounting or IT? Seems that you are pursuing 2 majors at the same time or maybe i misunderstood? Having accounting background does help for being an auditor but usually CPA's dont do IT Auditing.