Another MIS Degree Question

RedemptionRedemption Registered Users Posts: 6 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello all,

I been reading your website and seen the good advice give to people in my situation. Since every situation is a little different, I will post some questions that apply to me.

First and foremost I am a 45 year old student, I am 15 credits away from obtaining my MIS degree. Like everyone else before me, I am a little concerned about my future. Here is the rub, I have not help a regular position for the last 20 years. I have been a stay at home dad. During those 20 years I mostly worked for myself, but not things that I can put on a resume to really help me. For example, I repaired computer for 2 years "under the table", then after that. I was a day trader until the stock market crashed in 2008. In between I have been a realtor investor and I sill own three properties that I rent out. So with that said, although most of the last 20 years was raising my kinds, I am very technical. I have always managed my own servers, made some money with ad sense and SEO. I have my own lab and am proficient with VMware, vsphere, sharepoint. If a TV dies in my house I take it apart and I fix it, not afraid to get my hands dirty managing a network. Although for some reason I have never worked with cisco products. But I have worked with sonic wall, sophos, untangle and pfsense. I am familiar with automation software and know a little programming "enough to understand what t he code is doing" but not enough o make a living out of it. I am familiar with windows server and active directory. Six months ago I applied at a part time computer tech job in my university. They gave me a hands on test and I passed it with flying colors, but I did not get the job. My guess is that I did not do a good job explaining the 20 year gap.