How to properly apply for jobs out of state?

sschwietermansschwieterman Member Posts: 42 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I am currently an IT Technician in a small city in the south US. I have recently gotten a few certs and am ready for a new job to test my new skills and continue my learning as I move on to more advanced certs. I am mostly job-searching in bigger, IT-hub cities to get myself the best job experience I can.

I was supposed to have a phone interview today with a company in New York, but got an early call saying they didn't realize I was out of state and weren't willing to pay for a flight to have a face-to-face interview if the phone interview went well. This wasn't something I had considered before and I'm starting to think this is why I am not being contacted about many of the applications I am sending out, as my experience for the job I'm applying for (Network Administrator) is solid.

I am no stranger to moving or big cities and feel that it is the best step to move forward in my career because there aren't many jobs here. Does anyone know the best way to handle applying for jobs out of state? Is there something I should write specifically on my resume/cover letter that should say I am fine with relocating myself? Should I just leave my address off the resume completely?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• ITSpectreITSpectre Member Posts: 1,040 ■■■■□□□□□□
    In the darkest hour, there is always a way out - Eve ME3 :cool:
    “The measure of an individual can be difficult to discern by actions alone.” – Thane Krios
  • jeremywatts2005jeremywatts2005 Member Posts: 347 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Three suggestions:

1). Get an address in the city and state you are looking for work.

2). Change your phone number to the city and state you are looking for work in