Options

ICND1 100-101 Official Cert Guide

rob42rob42 Member Posts: 423
Hello fellow members.

Please be kind to me; I'm new to both the the subject of computer networking as well as the etiquette of this forum.

I've had a look around, but can see know sign of any subject in connection to my query which is in regard to the ICND1 100-101 Official Cert Guide (as you'll have gathered from the title of this thread) and more precisely, question 6 on page 307.

For anyone that does not have access to the book, the question is as follows...
Before Class B network 172.16.0.0 is subnetted by a network engineer, what parts of the structure of the IP address in this network already exist, with a specific size? (Select two answers)

a. Network
b. Subnet
c. Host
d. BroadcastTo my mind (and this is where I need your help as it seems, based on the answer given on page 308, that I'm wrong) the answers are 'b' & 'c', with a possibility of 'a'. I went with 'b' rather than 'a' as my understanding is that any network has a minimum of one Subnet and satisfies that question of already existing and of a specific size (although this is also applicable to 'a') and the chapter is about Subnetting.

The answer given on page 308 is 'a' & 'c', and I don't understand why 'b' is incorrect. Could anyone please explain to me why 'b' is an incorrect answer?

Posted with thanks.
No longer an active member

Comments

• Options
    sillymcnastysillymcnasty Member Posts: 254 ■■■□□□□□□□
    rob42 wrote: »
    Hello fellow members.

Please be kind to me; I'm new to both the the subject of computer networking as well as the etiquette of this forum.

I've had a look around, but can see know sign of any subject in connection to my query which is in regard to the ICND1 100-101 Official Cert Guide (as you'll have gathered from the title of this thread) and more precisely, question 6 on page 307.

For anyone that does not have access to the book, the question is as follows...