Please help me understand! CCNA, A+ advice

nnayr3nnayr3 Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
so let me tell you the situation
I am a 28 year old female with a Masters and Bachelors in Communications, i have working experience but not in computers(where i belong) right now i am studying for the A+ cert. on my own. and i got into a year long CCNA program at the community college ( i thought this would be better with no experience) just in case i had questions and the hands on part. I understand not working in the field and no experience makes it harder for me to get a job or god money that is why i would like to get the a+ cert so i can start working and get a little experience while im in the program. I plan on continuing my education through my career

Also- i am taking the CCNA course for $450 a semester/qt there are 4 over a year. is it worth it?
A+ cert i am studying on my own so i can get a job and experience before i finish the program

what are your thoughts on jobs and titles i should look at. Starting pay to ask for. just need some advice if i am taking the right approach

Comments

• TechytachTechytach Member Posts: 140
    CCNA doesn't do much for you without actual job experience to back it up. I would focus more on the A+ and entry level job than I would the CCNA.
  • beadsbeads Member Posts: 1,531 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Combined they would be acceptable coming out of community college. At the same time I disagree with community colleges trying to teach to the CCNP and CISSP level course work.

Added edit below.

What's with the minority female crutch? This is IT not a beauty contest. We generally don't care what you look like, where you came from or that your favorite color is burnt orange, only if you can do the job or not. Skills win the day and add to the team effort, everything else is generally saved for the water cooler. icon_confused.gif:

- b/eads
  • LexluetharLexluethar Member Posts: 516