My experience with linux+ LX-0103

ccboy85ccboy85 Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Well I studied a month and used linux academy and CompTIA Linux+ / LPIC-1 Cert Guide by Ross Brunson [COLOR=#555555 !important](Author), [/COLOR]Sean Walberg [COLOR=#555555 !important](Author). I barely passed with a score of 500/800 (yes, right on the boarder!) In my opinion the test had a lot of "trivia questions" on SysVinit and other technicalities that you'd read straight from a book. Linux Academy won't help you with that. If I didn't read the text book, I'd probably fail. Don't get me wrong, linux academy is great for teaching you real world scenarios and such, but I can't see how anyone would pass just using that as a resource.. I had two fill in the blanks which were super easy. One was "what is the required umask to set a certain permission on a directory."

[/COLOR]Some background info: My entire career has been with Windows. I had no prior knowledge of how Linux operates and what the various distributions were. As an IT professional, I was considered a true newbie in regards to LINUX. This experience has taught be a lot and I'm ready for the next part. I'll probably study at least twice as long since I have more time to do so.

Can anyone give me any info on how difficult the LX-0104 exam is and where to focus?

Thanks all!

Comments

• nisti2nisti2 Member Posts: 503 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Congrats on your pass! And as is said, a pass is pass no matter what! :D
    2020 Year goals:
    Already passed: Oracle Cloud, AZ-900
    Taking AZ-104 in December.

"Certs... is all about IT certs!"
  • zesty2016zesty2016 Member Posts: 23 ■□□□□□□□□□
    This is uncanny. I too train with Linux Academy and I too took the 103 exam recently, last saturday actually, ans I also got that umask question (I'm guessing it is the only one). However, i was very disappointed in my score, I got 470 despite acing the LA practice exam and doing some online questions too.