Do ports only accept TCP/ IP OR UDP? (Nmap question...)

resilientresilient Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All - I'm studying for CEH and I have a question about ports and port scanning: TCP + UDP....

1. TCP is connection oriented – once a connection is established, data can be sent bidirectional.
2. UDP
is a simpler, connectionless Internet protocol.

So, with that being said - are ports inherently programmed to accept one over the other? The reason I ask is because some nmap scans seem to be ONLY TCP or UDP specific. Thanks..

Comments

• TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Can they run other ports? In some cases but basically assume they run on standard ports. See the below rfc as an example for SMTP.

https://www.ietf.org/rfc/rfc3207.txt
  • IvDoggIvDogg Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
    resilient wrote: »
    Hi All - I'm studying for CEH and I have a question about ports and port scanning: TCP + UDP....

1. TCP is connection oriented – once a connection is established, data can be sent bidirectional.
    2. UDP
    is a simpler, connectionless Internet protocol.

So, with that being said - are ports inherently programmed to accept one over the other? The reason I ask is because some nmap scans seem to be ONLY TCP or UDP specific. Thanks..

I can see a lot of ways to answer this questions, but I think I understand what you're getting at....

There are 65536 ports (including 0) for each L4 protocol (i.e. TCP port 80 & UDP Port 80).

Your layer 3 header (byte 9) will identify what the higher layer protocol is for the packet (i.e. TCP/UDP/ICMP/etc). Google image IP header to SEE what I'm referring to.

NMAP is a whole 'nother can of worms as to how it enumerates ports. As a start, if you turn the "--reason" switch on (I think) for your NMAP scan, it will hopefully tell you why it returned a particular result for the port scan.

-Ivan
  • bamahonkybamahonky Member Posts: 52 ■■□□□□□□□□