Pointless degree in computer networking

Ungadunga911Ungadunga911 Member Posts: 53 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello, i was wondering if anyone thinks it would be a good move to drop out of school if you are unable to do anything that the degree is supposed to teach you. I went to a for profit school which was 18 months long for an AAB, which i thought was an AAS, but anyway i didn't learn anything, the instructor sat down and made us go through testout.com. After that ended, i decided to go to a community college which i will admit has taught me a great deal more, i learned how to sub net, but that's about it and i am in my second year. I don't even know how to configure a router, i had help desk from the company of the product walk me through. My laptop constantly gets disconnected from the internet at my house and i have no idea why or how to fix it. I went to YouTube and google but am afraid i will mess something up somehow. Just the other day i was tasked to install a printer through power shell for a project and didn't even know that i needed the printer driver already on my server for it to work, but the best part is that i went to all the top sites and downloaded the driver and it still doesn't work. I just feel that i am wasting my time, cause i think this next year is going to pass and ill be given a peace of paper that doesn't mean anything, and that i will know nothing, not how to build a network, troubleshoot one, NOTHING.

Comments

• TranceSoulBrotherTranceSoulBrother Member Posts: 215
    If I was you, I would sit back and look at the situation without much emotion. Figure out how much money you're willing to shell out in education and the benefit. If you're seeking a piece of paper for HR filters, continue on your path but seek out knowledge through other means like personal discovery, youtube/cbt classes, certification books and the likes.