[300-115] CCNP Switch - here we go

negru_tudornegru_tudor Member Posts: 473 ■■■□□□□□□□
So after doing my CCNP Voice about 1.5 years ago I (sadlyicon_sad.gif!) got transitioned into a role dealing mainly with application support with a mix of networking and security here and there but voice to a lesser degree.

However, since as of late I've been more involved in network troubleshooting and design/re-design, I've considering tackling the CCNP R&S track to further consolidate & broaden my knowledge in this area.

After a thorough CCNA review (took me about 1.5 months to get back in the saddle and go through all the topics covered in the CCNA syllabus I studied) I decided to tackle switch first. In this regard, I've acquired the OCG books for SWITCH and TSHOOT.

My strategy here is to go through the SWITCH OCG book first, get the concepts and knowledge down then go through the switch-related side of things from the TSHOOT book..I found out the hard way that this is a very good approach from my CCNP Voice studies.

I'm going to try to lab everything out in GNS3 using the latest IOU-L2 images out there and try to supplement with real gear as much as I can. However, based on my CCNP Voice experiences, you can pretty much get away with over 90% of the stuff just by using VMware and GNS3.

My purpose for this thread is to try and track my progress going forward and maybe keep some sort of repository of "lessons learned"/"gotchas" from studying this stuff if I ever need to come back and review.

So, CCNP R&S, here I come baby! :D
2017-2018 goals:
[X] CIPTV2 300-075
[ ] SIP School SSCA
[X] CCNP Switch 300-115 [X] CCNP Route 300-101 [X] CCNP Tshoot 300-135
[ ] LPIC1-101 [ ] LPIC1-102 (wishful thinking)

Comments

• koz24koz24 Member Posts: 766 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Good luck man. IIRC L2 IOU cannot do private vlans or L3 etherchannels. But maybe the new images can. Practice it anyway with notepad or something.
  • negru_tudornegru_tudor Member Posts: 473 ■■■□□□□□□□