CompTIA Security+ SME workshop

BillHooBillHoo Member Posts: 207 ■■■□□□□□□□
Has anyone participated in the SME workshop for Security+?

I've never written or review test questions before, but I applied just to get the experience.

They pay a stipend, but I'm guessing that is just to cover travel costs. Meals are included though.

I know they make you sign an NDA, but O'm just wondering if it is a worthwhile experience? Is there time in the evenings to explore Chicago? Or do they organize group fun and socials for the teams?

Comments

• cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    I did the CSA+ and it was a superb experience. Highly recommend it. Great team of professionals at CompTIA. See my review here: http://www.techexams.net/forums/other-comptia-certifications/118048-did-comptia-cybersecurity-analyst-jta-3.html

Note that CompTIA is in the burbs, like 25-30 min away from the city so you would need to rent a car or do Uber to move around.
  • BillHooBillHoo Member Posts: 207 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Safe enough neighborhood to walk around without getting stabbed or shot?

@cyberguypr - I see that you took the CASP exam voucher. How long is that good for?

I'd be interested in CASP, but I do not want to take any more certs in the upcoming year. I'm trying to plan my cert schedules so they cascade around renewal of other certs at minimal cost and effort for the next ... oh... 7 to 10 years before I decide to retire.
  • NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    BillHoo wrote: »
    Safe enough neighborhood to walk around without getting stabbed or shot?

Comptia definitely runs it's business out of the slums. 3rd floor of an abandoned apartment building if I can recall correctly. Better be packing heat.
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod