Options

CISSP as a next step?

MitMMitM Member Posts: 622 ■■■■□□□□□□
I've been in IT since 97, holding a number of different jobs from helpdesk, desktop, server/virtualization admin. I'm currently a network engineer. Not at this very moment, but soon, I want to advance my career further, and the area I've been most interested in, is security.

For the past few months, I've been working on the CCNP Security certification. I passed 1 of the 4 exams in October, which renewed my other cisco certs (CCNP R&S, CCNA Security, CCNA DC). My initial thought process was complete the CCNP Security and then go for the CISSP. I'm having second thoughts now, because I'm wondering if the CCNP Security is necessary/beneficial for my career. At my current employer, I support cisco switches/routers, but our firewalls are Palo Alto. We don't use ISE yet, but hopefully, it's in the works for early 2017.

I'm considering jumping straight to CISSP. Maybe even get certified in Palo Alto first since I use them daily, to add a firewall cert to my resume.

If anyone has any opinions, I welcome them. Happy Holiday!

Comments

• Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,029 Admin
    If you have the verifiable InfoSec work history to get the full CISSP cert then you might as well go for it. The temporary switch from highly technical subject matter to more business-oriented topics might be a good vacation for your brain too. :)
  • Options
    I'm pretty sure my experience qualifies. At my current employer, where I've been for 10+ years, at different times, I have been responsible for endpoint security (AV, MS Updates), BC/DR planning/testing, firewall + network security.
  • Options
    ErtazErtaz Member Posts: 934 ■■■■■□□□□□
    JDMurray wrote: »