Options

What is a reasonable amount of time to prepare for the 70-410, 411, 412, and 243?

KiyoriKiyori Member Posts: 40 ■■■□□□□□□□
What is a reasonable amount of time to prepare for the 70-410, 411, 412, and 243? I am currently a service desk analyst with about 6 months of experience. My goal is to end up as an SCCM administrator, and have decided to go through the Server 2012R2 series before I hit the SCCM exam. I'm about to start working in an environment where I will have the opportunity to learn from others, and should I do well, be in a great position to achieve the job. The timeline for this is looking to be about 6 months when I will want to look as attractive to employers as I can.

I have gone through the server classes at tech school, have watched some videos, dabbled in home hyper-v practice labs, and have a beginner/rookie knowledge of servers.

What is a reasonable amount of time to prepare for each exam?

-Kiyori
"Ad astra per aspera"

Comments

• Options
    SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    If you're studying daily, at least an hour or two a day - with more time on the weekends - then 1 - 2 months for each exam is completely reasonable. If you're putting in more time, finding yourself picking up the topics faster than you expected, etc., it might go faster. If you're finding that things are taking more time/labbing to sink in, then it might take longer. Keep in mind, some exams *will* take longer than others, that's why a lot of people refer to certain exams as "beasts".

I see you've taken the Windows 7 exams, these server exams will be very similar. There might be more topics to cover here and there, but the structure and level of difficulty will be similar, so use that experience as your measuring stick.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs
    Free DevOps/Azure Resources: Visual Studio Dev Essentials

Let it never be said that I didn't do the very least I could do.
  • Options