A continuing OCSP journey.....

R3wtedR3wted Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Everyone,

Working full time my path down OSCP has been long and slow lol. I started about 11 months ago and now have 21 host fully rooted. Although I am definitely no guru, I am happy to share any knowledge that may help people.

I look forward to getting to know you all better.
Cheers :D

Comments

• soccarplayer29soccarplayer29 Member Posts: 230 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I enjoy your username play on words :) It might be beneficial to jumpstart this discussion with some introduction about yourself, your journey toward OSCP (previous work experience, certifications, study materials, etc.).

Welcome to TE!
    Certs: CISSP, CISA, PMP
  • mysticagmysticag Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi R3wted,

I am planning to do OSCP certification. I would like to know what are the basics I need to brush up before starting the labs. My background is I am a Automation Test Analyst have Masters in Security Technologies, so I have little bit idea about security and programming.

Any pointers will be helpful.

Cheers
  • R3wtedR3wted Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi Soccarplayer

Thanks for the welcome. I am currently working as a systems administrator at a hospital. I decided I wanted to specialize and chose OSCP on the basis it was a hands on the course and the certification was highly regarded in the industry.The challenge for me doing this course was it was completely new for someone who is completely self taught Fortunately I have made friends who are doing the same course. One has given me numerous URL's to use and well as recommending vulnhub for extra practice
    My Main Study books would be RTFM, Web Application Hackers Handbook, Hackers Playbook2

The 21 Hosts hosts I have rooted so far are ALICE,RALPH,PAYDAY,BOB,BOB2,JD,DJ,ORACLE,DOTTY,JEFF,BARRY,MIKE, TOPHAT,KRACKEN,SUSIE,HELPDESK,SEAN,MAIL,TIMECLOCK,KEVIN,.234

Some machines have been real tricky which makes owning then all the bigger buzz :)