WGU Master's but no prior experience

Will I be able to get into a security job with only a WGU Master of Science in Cybersecurity and Information Assurance?

I have zero job experience. My Bachelor's is in a different area too.

Will I at least be able to get an interview for a decent entry-level job?

Comments

• Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    For security specifically? You're very likely going to have a rough time. Now, if you came to me and talked all about things you've done on your own, home lab, VMs, stuff like that, showing a lot of passion, I might give you a shot for a jr level position. Most security roles aren't typically considered "entry level" though. You'll find level 1 SOC analyst roles but even then they're usually above what a level 1 help desk person would need to know.
  • adrenaline19adrenaline19 Member Posts: 251
    What if I have my OSCP too?
  • BlackBeretBlackBeret Member Posts: 683 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Can you get a job? Of course. You could get a job with no experience, no certs, and no degree. Is it likely? Not really. Also, you can have a Masters degree, any cert you want to list, and lots of experience and still might not be able to find a job, it's just more likely that you will.

That being said, SANS has a program called VetSucces. There are guys graduating that program with multiple SANS certs and can't get a security job, because they don't have the right cert listed or don't have enough experience, etc. etc. Nothing guarantees a job, but experience usually trumps all.
    You probably want to define what you actually want to do first, then make a plan to get there. Just saying, Oh I'll get an MS, or wait I'll throw in an OSCP too. Do you want to be a pentester? If so don't even bother with the MS as they likely won't care. Do you want to "get into security"? because that can mean a ton of different things, figure out what you want to do first, then people can help you get there.