Options

What do you need to break into IT in the denver Colorado area PART time

TheNullVoidTheNullVoid Banned Posts: 46 ■■□□□□□□□□
So,many of you know me here

-I have a job that pays decently(19 an hour). I dont want to just leave this job and jump fulltime into an IT related position. I have zero IT experience

-Will be taking the 902 in a few weeks. Ill pass it

-I am looking for a weekend IT related gig to slowly build experience. I'm worried I might not make it in IT. So, I want to have my main job to fall back on if that's the case. I work for a REALLY good company. I don't want to enter IT and fail with NO job.

-Im willing to volunteer on the weekends to gain experience. I applied at a non-profit for an IT related gig...No response

Should I just focus on finishing my A+?

Comments

• Options
    EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,077 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Volunteering is definitely the way to go with no experience and not being willing to go full-time. Private schools, churches and many small non-profits are the area you're looking at here. Be prepared to show value, these places can't afford screw-ups, don't give them a reason to think you'll cause one.
  • Options
    stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    TheNullVoid - I would focus on your A+ and get it knocked out. Just as EANx said, places you can volunteer at will want to see that you are going to provide value to their organization. As such, consider building your credibility through blogging or other projects. The Denver area has a pretty competitive volunteer pool, so non-profits can be selective. Don't be surprised to get rejected.