Regretting job move?

SpetsRepairSpetsRepair Member Posts: 210 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm currently a security engineer at a SOC and I'm at the point where I've become complacent at this job and there isn't many directions to move up, its either keep doing the same thing day in and day out or move onto another company. Been offered another role but It looks like more of a network engineer/design role and I'm working on coming on board but honestly, not sure If I made the right decision. The pay is a 30k increase and brings me up to 85k, which I'm comfortable with for now however, the role change from working at a SOC and being a Security engineer down to a network engineer seems kind of an odd change. As far as asking current company for more money, no other engineer was given a raise and they left last year. We lost three engineers last year, and will be losing a few more this year as two other engineers are planning to leave my current employer. I haven't told anyone yet, so waiting on final word before moving over

Comments

• NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Titles don't mean much and really have to consider what the job duties are to determine if you would like a position. Network engineers at my company do a lot of security as well.
  • Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Also, if you want to stay in security, I don't know how the title of security engineer works in your company but in most places that role should get significantly more than 55K a year. Maybe just look around more since you're already employed?
  • markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Danielm7 wrote: »
    Also, if you want to stay in security, I don't know how the title of security engineer works in your company but in most places that role should get significantly more than 55K a year. Maybe just look around more since you're already employed?