Options

Advice on working desktop support at NYC hedge fund

ikevincikevinc Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello Everyone,

I was recently offered a job at a prestigious NYC hedge fund. My official title is desktop support and I may be handling small projects/minor sys-admin work. I've primarily worked in the suburbs and not in a fast-paced financial institution. I have worked for an MSP so I've been in high-pressure situations. Does anyone have any advice on how to catch up quick? Anything would help! I just want to do the best that I can do. Thank you.

Comments

• Options
    hurricane1091hurricane1091 Member Posts: 919 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I work in the financial sector but for a medium sized company. Financial folks who make tons of money come in two flavors. Extremely nice, or the exact opposite. So, just be prepared for that. The company makes money when those guys are making money, so things need to be always working. The stakes are higher I would say and the office culture can be less lax, but there's no real difference I suppose. Perhaps the urgency increases more than anything.
  • Options
    ikevincikevinc Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I see. How would you say the IT guys are perceived though? Do the financial guys act elitist towards the IT guys?
  • Options
    hurricane1091hurricane1091 Member Posts: 919 ■■■■□□□□□□
    ikevinc wrote: »
    I see. How would you say the IT guys are perceived though? Do the financial guys act elitist towards the IT guys?

Well, I am a network engineer. I do not usually need to interact with them, but I have gone down to new offices and met some. Some are very appreciative (one took me out to lunch). Some see you/technology as a hindrance and get frustrated. I find the ones that make the most money tend to be very nice. It's the ones who do better than most of us here, but really are not the bread/butter producers are the ones who are not so nice.