RHCSA course to learn linux, overall?

JacktivatedJacktivated Member Posts: 39 ■■□□□□□□□□
Would going through Sander Van Vugt's RHCSA video course help me to learn linux, overall, even if I don't bother getting certified and just want to learn linux so I can create home projects and other cool things?

I have some limited experience with CentOS 7 at work, along with setting up and managing Nagios, and have played around with Ubuntu, Mint, etc as desktop OS's, but I've always wanted to learn more about Linux.

For instance, building out an OpenHAB server on a raspberry pi to set up home automation from scratch; Run an open source virtual pbx, such as Asterisk; Combine this linux knowledge with my CCNA background and get into using some Pentesting tools.

So, if I'm not sure yet if certification is the goal, but still want to learn a lot more about Linux, is there a better learning path to take? Or would going through the RHCSA material still help me achieve all I want, without being overkill?

Please don't advise me to just pick a linux distro and play around until I learn. I've already been doing that and want to dig much deeper.

I do like the video learning method for self-study, such as CBT Nuggets, Pluralsight, or Udemy, to name a few. So, if you think Vander's course isn't ideal for my goal, perhaps you can suggest another video series?

Thanks very much, in advance. I am grateful for any help you can provide.

Comments

• OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722
    I can't comment on the Sander course. I have his book, but haven't really looked at it yet. He does seem to know what he's talking about.

Linux Academy
    is quite popular, and LinuxFoundation have some more general, hands on certification courses.

The certification courses are worthwhile, since you end up covering a lot of the basics.