IT Project Manager to Networking Administrator

Decided that I will be departing project management to get back into the technical field. I've been doing project management for about 4 years now and as it has been an experience, I think it's best for me to move back into a domain I'm more comfortable in. The problems you experience as a PM is people and I'm not the best with people. Budgets, stakeholders, executives, death-by-PowerPoint. That said, I have learned a lot about people skills while working in project management and being able to see things from a holistic viewpoint has given me a bigger picture on how things flow. The experience I carry with me as a PM will be instrumental to my future in other fields so I hope others (hiring officials) see this as well.

I have an interview for a networking job tomorrow and I am looking forward to it. I am a little nervous because it has been awhile ( 6 years) since I have served in a direct networking role, but I've been hammering the CCNA and getting caught up on some things. I've had people tell me I've moving backwards, but my goal is to reach an engineering level, so I figured before I root myself as a PM, I may as well cut things short while my finances are in good order.

Has anyone else left a non-technical field to go back into it?

Wish me luck!
Current: OSCP

Next: CCNP (R&S and Sec)

Follow my OSCP Thread!

Comments

• scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    Yes. good luck and relax!
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • NavyMooseCCNANavyMooseCCNA Member Posts: 544 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Sounds awfully familiar. I made the change from PM back into IT. Good luck!!

'My dear you are ugly, but tomorrow I shall be sober and you will still be ugly' Winston Churchil

• DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Project Management is one of the worst positions you can hold in IT.