Lost in the sea of IT from a bad internship

kratositykratosity Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
So I am a senior about to graduate this December and I am so lost. The whole 2 years after my sophomore year I have been trying to get into an internship program for Information Security. I had no luck until this past spring, and I got into the program (apparently the other applicants are too stupid to answer questions likewhat is symmetric key encryption).

RANT:
Long story short, the entire summer has been a huge waste of time. The internship did not get me involved deep enough to really learn anything. This is my first internship, and I am a BSIT major with a concentration in Security and Assurance, so all I know are the technical things. This internship was majority nontechnical (which is fine!), but they told me to teach myself these concepts and get lower level certs. I am the INTERN, you should have had a small project for me to do that incorporates the aspects of security in the corporate office. I would get calls from othr companies for actual jobs and internships and have to tell them no because I am already in one for the summer. If I could leave I would have, but I need the money and it is just not ethical to leave an internship cold turkey. I want to get OUT, I have no idea if I want to be a practitioner or professional. The program should have shown me the distinction. I would sit at my desk looking over Network+ and Security+ material but I could do that at home...

TL;DR + Question:
What advice would you give a college student about to graduate this year that has no experience and only an IT Security internship under their belt?

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Things rarely go as planned. Probably the best lesson you learned this summer!