how to connect routers and switches

James777James777 Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I'm studying for the CCENT exam at the moment, I've gone through the Chris Brant videos and taken notes. Going through Lammle's book at the moment. What I want to know is how do you connect actual router and switches together? what commands do you need? is there a lab book I can buy and use that will actually show a newbie like me on how to connect the routers and switches?

I have 3 cisco routers and switches. I connected the router's fast0/0 and 0/1 ports (back of the router) to 2 switches, but then when I login to the router via console, and typed show cdpneighbor, nothing shows up in the table. don't know where to go from there.

I've seen in Chris Bryant's videos he moves between the switches and routers by pressing numbers (2, 3, or 4, at the enabled prompts) on the keyboard, how does he do that?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Welly_59Welly_59 Member Posts: 431
    If you've watched all the videos them you must have done with your eyes closed or you seriously need to take another look at your study methods.

I bet the interfaces are shutdown
  • rob42rob42 Member Posts: 423
    James777 wrote: »
    Hi all,

I'm studying for the CCENT exam at the moment, I've gone through the Chris Brant videos and taken notes. Going through Lammle's book at the moment. What I want to know is how do you connect actual router and switches together? what commands do you need? is there a lab book I can buy and use that will actually show a newbie like me on how to connect the routers and switches?

I have 3 cisco routers and switches. I connected the router's fast0/0 and 0/1 ports (back of the router) to 2 switches, but then when I login to the router via console, and typed show cdpneighbor, nothing shows up in the table. don't know where to go from there.