It certifications a lawyer can pursue

PhemmiskyPhemmisky Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I would like to know any good IT certification that an information technology lawyer with elementary knowledge of science and maths can get ? Pls just to have an edge in my career .

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Any certs you could get with only elementary knowledge aren't likely to help you as a lawyer I wouldn't think.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • NavyMooseCCNANavyMooseCCNA Member Posts: 544 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I would start with Security+ and then look into Certified Information Systems Manager (CISM), or Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA).

'My dear you are ugly, but tomorrow I shall be sober and you will still be ugly' Winston Churchil

• TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I would start with Security+ and then look into Certified Information Systems Manager (CISM), or Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA).

How's that going to help him? Those certifications are meant for IT professionals responsibile for policy and program creations, implementations etc. That alone is a full time job, not to mention they require proven experience already and years in the field.

Seriously I've been seeing so many posts with similar topics lately with the Original Posters seeking an advantage over other candiates in an unrelated iT field if they get an IT certifications. This way of thinking is flawed. IT will not give you any advantage.

I just recently took part in a IR tabletop exercise and we had legal in the room. By the time any task was assigned to legal there were 10+ IT people involved, 2 CERT groups and 2 levels of CISO.

Point I'm making, stick to your field and become the best lawyer you can be, focus on the law side and try to excel at that. The IT pros are doing the same on their side.
  • UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod