Is it safe to give out server ip so others can access via browser?

ethoswethosw Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Quick question (hope it's okay to ask), I'm a student and I am thinking of getting an AWS server to host my projects. I want to be able to let companies that I apply to access my hosted projects; along with sharing and letting others check it out.

Would it be safe to give out my server's public IP address?

I was thinking of buying a domain instead, but there doesn't seem to be an easy way to connect that with an AWS EC2 instance. Plus not sure if I should pay for that domain, as I don't think I'll have the server up for long - just mainly to showcase my side/school projects.

Any help/input would be appreciated!

Comments

• TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Ever heard of GitHub? Does exactly what you want for free. Everyone uses it.
  • bootboot Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Would it be safe to give out my server's public IP address?

I was thinking of buying a domain instead

Do you know what
    nslookup www.techexams.net

does?

I'd be more worried that you set up an insecure server. Imagine if a potential employer visits your server and gets hit with ransomware. Use Github, you only have to worry about the security of your own code. You can use Github Pages to show web pages, as long as they're static (no server side code, e.g. PHP, Python or Ruby on Rails). If you have server side code, put it in a repository on Github, with instructions for quick demo setup (PHP/Python/whatever command to start a web server in local folder). You get to show that you know collaborative tools (Git/Github) as well.
    not sure if I should pay for that domain