Which certification now?

agentcapskinsagentcapskins Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm currently a senior working towards my bachelor's in Cyber Security Engineering. Because I'll be applying to full-time jobs soon, I need some advice on what certification I should get next.

My major is more geared toward systems engineering, so I haven't gotten much cyber knowledge aside from a class here and there. I currently intern at a government contractor where I work on cloud security solutioning, but thats mostly high level stuff. I would say my interest lies in network security.

Everyone I talk to about jobs tells me I need to get my CISSP, even if it's just the associate, if I want a really high paying job. It took me about two weeks to get my Security+, but I feel that it's somewhat unrealistic for me to get my CISSP within two months or so. I'm kind of worried about being able to handle it with school and work. However, I'm a fast learner and if I find that this cert is really worth it (right now, at least), I'll go all in and try my best.

So what do you guys think? Would it be realistic and if so would it even be helpful? Are there any other certs that would help me stick out? I've been looking at the CSA+, but that doesn't have much recognition yet and I'm not sure if I'm looking for an analyst role. CEH seems good but from what I can tell I need two years of experience, which I don't have.

Thanks for reading. Any input is welcome.

Comments

• yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I'd wait and take other certs in the mean time. In fact, I am waiting. Probably in two more years. I'd do it next year but I'll be working pen test certs then.

Expert-level certs like the CISSP (or CCIE) help to land senior-level jobs. If you have an expert-level cert but no work experience you won't be taken seriously. There are plenty entry and mid-range certs to take while you gain the work exp appropriate to an expert-level cert.