Options

Is this why Equifax was hacked?

Comments

• Options
    DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
    jcundiff wrote: »
    Not from my experience ... I work for a very large financial sector player, we have one CSO, every bank we deal with has one CSO... all of whom are are technical, come from a security background and know what is going on in their environment... maybe I have just been lucky

+1 here as well and I have been an FTE and contractor in over 5 fortune 500's. I have never seen a resource model mapped out like the one Force just kicked out.
  • Options
    jstockjstock Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
    It will be interesting to see if the three executives who sold stock days after the discovery of the breach are convicted of insider trading. If the breach was communicated correctly internally (which I doubt), the information should be non-discoverable.

In the event of a breach, all communication over email and phone should cease to avoid further compromise and, more importantly for these executives, e-discovery. Or, any communication is in the presence of a lawyer through Cc-ing or conference calling (attorney-client privileges). Given the handling of the breach so far, I doubt the competence of the leaders of Equifax to effectively protect themselves from legal action.
  • Options
    jcundiffjcundiff Member Posts: 486 ■■■■□□□□□□
    jstock wrote: »
    It will be interesting to see if the three executives who sold stock days after the discovery of the breach are convicted of insider trading. If the breach was communicated correctly internally (which I doubt), the information should be non-discoverable.