business degree getting a help desk job

waspe3waspe3 Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm a recent grad moving out of accounting into IT trying to get a entry level job in general IT. Right now I'm studying for the CCNA R&S and Security after, plus taking a bunch of open course-ware certificates on coursera, edx, etc. I pretty much have 1 year as an accounting intern at a tech start up, income tax preparation work, and other customer service type jobs.

Long-term I'm interested in info sec related stuff like pen testing or reverse engineering malware. I'm reading Black Hat Python and Hackers Playbook 2 just to orient myself to see if I'd like it to begin with. Then I'm looking at GIAC certs later on if it plays out.

Any tips on resume building, job titles I should be applying too, comments on my current cert path, and likeliness on breaking into the industry would be nice.

Thx.

Comments

• mikey88mikey88 Member Posts: 495 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Start with the basics and get your CompTIA A+ for that entry level role. If you try applying for higher end roles without the experience, your resume will just get tossed.

For pen testing Security+ > CEH > OSCP
    Certs: CISSP, CySA+, Security+, Network+ and others | 2019 Goals: Cloud Sec/Scripting/Linux

• NetworkingStudentNetworkingStudent Member Posts: 1,407 ■■■■■■■■□□
    waspe3 wrote: »
    I'm a recent grad moving out of accounting into IT trying to get a entry level job in general IT. Right now I'm studying for the CCNA R&S and Security after, plus taking a bunch of open course-ware certificates on coursera, edx, etc. I pretty much have 1 year as an accounting intern at a tech start up, income tax preparation work, and other customer service type jobs.

Long-term I'm interested in info sec related stuff like pen testing or reverse engineering malware. I'm reading Black Hat Python and Hackers Playbook 2 just to orient myself to see if I'd like it to begin with. Then I'm looking at GIAC certs later on if it plays out.