Options

Management Role

Hi Guys,

I haven't been here for awhile. But, i'm back!!!. I have over 10 years experience in IT. Just recently got my MBA. And, i really want to transition into management role. Management folks here, how do one break into it?.

Thanks,
James

Comments

• Options
    EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,077 ■■■■■■■■□□
    What sort of management do you want to do? Operations (tier 1/2/3) management? Architecture? Development management? Project management? Director/executive? Someone ready for the last wouldn't be asking that question but it might be what you aspire to.

It's been said that management is a lot like sales, someone who can do it, can do it anywhere. So, how are your leadership skills? How good are you at reading people? Making small talk? Starting and maintaining professional relationships outside of the people you work with on a day-to-day basis? Have you read a book related to management or leadership (or the skills they need, like finance) in the last year? Taken a class?
  • Options
    jamesbrownjamesbrown Member Posts: 216
    EANx wrote: »
    What sort of management do you want to do? Operations (tier 1/2/3) management? Architecture? Development management? Project management? Director/executive? Someone ready for the last wouldn't be asking that question but it might be what you aspire to.

It's been said that management is a lot like sales, someone who can do it, can do it anywhere. So, how are your leadership skills? How good are you at reading people? Making small talk? Starting and maintaining professional relationships outside of the people you work with on a day-to-day basis? Have you read a book related to management or leadership (or the skills they need, like finance) in the last year? Taken a class?