Down to the wire on negotiations

BrandonT2610BrandonT2610 Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all, i'll try to explain my situation quickly and thoroughly in hopes that i can receive some thoughts/feedback.

I am a contractor who is working in a data center as a tech/data center engineer. " title varies by company apparently"

I am coming down to the wire on my contract and have been negotiating on a salary to hire on with my current employer.
I felt my salary offer was low. I have based this off of the added responsibilities that come with this position. " I had been offered full time positions that i turned down recently that were not on call 24/7, had better benefits, were more in line with my career goals etc. As opposed to this position where id be getting away from networking and working more with critical infrastructure, and always on call.

My negotiation was a few more thousand on my salary to stay. They will not budge from the original price. However they will offer a retention bonus of the amount i want on my salary and offer end of year bonuses etc. Does that smell funny to you? The other option is to continue as a contractor until some major projects are completed and continue my search "3-4 months". I am in the interview process with another company who knows my needs, the job is what i want, and has great benefits. Unfortunately that interview process has been long and drug out and i need to make a choice with job A immediately.

How would you handle this? My gut says stay a contractor and hope job b works. Job A isn't somewhere i want to be forever, and the fact that they will do bonuses but not budge salary is bothersome. Job B would be great, however it isn't guaranteed and id hate for this to blow up in my face.

Thanks

Comments

• volfkhatvolfkhat Member Posts: 1,046 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Honestly,
    it sounds like you need to move on from job-a regardless.

And the fact that you