Whats the value in a BS in networking

Ungadunga911Ungadunga911 Member Posts: 53 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm currently a student at a regionally accredited school and was wondering why employers would place so much stock in a degree. Almost everyone i know doesn't know allot about computer network and security. The networking is taught through netacade witch wasn't very successful but im continuing to practice through gn3/cbt nuggets. The programming language in c ++ i was told that i will never use by others already in the field. But its mainly the liberal arts studies that take up around 80% of my time leaving me with very little to actually study networking. It almost seems like once im done with my degree that ill actually have a chance to start from the ground up working towards my CCNA. Im currently a junior and have been told by guys that work in the field or the ones that just started that is that they have learned more in 3 weeks than that past 3 years in a institution. I still have SQL and Linux and Unix ahead of me with 2 classes in programming not to mention calculus, the programming is very difficult for me, and math is just going to be a miracle. I just cant rap my brain around why people want BS degrees cause to me it just seems counter productive for someone trying to learn computer networking and server ex.

Comments

• ThePawofRizzoThePawofRizzo Member Posts: 389 ■■■■□□□□□□
    There are many companies that won't give you a serious look without a Bachelor's. My company prefers a Bachelor's degree, at least, although they have hired a couple engineers with proven experience. Mostly, a degree can give you that edge on your resume amongst a number of other candidates, particularly early in your career.